Collaborate Training

What is doth Collaborate of which ye speaketh?  ::grin::

 

Blackboard Collaborate is a tool that allows you to interact on-line and from any location with the students in your class. You can also invite a ‘guest speaker’ to address your class from anywhere in the world.

 

Okay. I have data. I’ve been using the webinar in my online Mat 129 – Statistics class for the past 2 fall semesters. This is math. Online. Math. In *8* weeks! Did I say math? It’s a disaster waiting to happen.

 

Using the webinar software, with a (rewarded with credit toward the final grade) weekly attendance requirement, I dropped the F grade rate from an average of about 50% to 26%. (!) And most of that 26% were ‘walk aways’ – F grades given for non-attendance rather than for lack of academic achievement.

 

Now. Your mileage may vary. And if I were doing a 16 week course (like I am right now; also not the Stats this time so it’s a different audience), I’m not so sure I’d do weekly required webinars. I don’t have much of a life but I like to think I have some free time of my own. But I am doing optional ‘office hours’ weekly online. It’s only been 1 week, so it’s too early to tell how it’s going to affect anything. Or if it’s going to affect anything.

But. It’s an option.

 

So. Training.

 

I’ve set up 2 sessions – these are Introductory; if you attended the session earlier in January, it’s going to be very similar:

 

  • Monday, January 28 – 2:30 – 3:30 pm – T203
  • Thursday, January 31 – 3:00 – 4:00 pm – T205

 

You’re not in Batavia? You can’t get here at that time? I’ll also be doing a simultaneous webinar – a webinar on webinars! – so you can join in from anywhere. And I’ll record the session and put the link to the recording online so you can watch that.

 

I’ll send out the link to the online webinar earlier each day. That’s my sneaky way of sending a reminder. And I’ll put the links to the recording on the Blackboard blog: https://bb9atgcc.wordpress.com (that’s a hint! If you don’t subscribe to that, you may want to!)

 

If you do the online webinar, all you need is a computer with speakers and an internet connection. If you have a mic and a video camera, even better!

 

Join me! In person or virtually!

 

Whee!

–MJ

Leave a Reply

